About Us

Mission: The mission of the Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District is to provide environmentally safe solid waste disposal at convenient locations and at a reasonable cost.

Who we serve: The Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District serves approximately 40,000 residents throughout Fremont County’s 9,323 square-mile area.

The Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District operates 18 permitted solid waste handling facilities, including four permitted landfills. Two are permitted for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW or household trash): the Sand Draw Landfill near Riverton and the Lander Landfill near Lander. Two are permitted for Construction and Demolition debris (C&D): the Dubois Landfill near Dubois and the Shoshoni Landfill just outside Shoshoni.

The District also manages 11 low-volume, low-hazard transfer stations that accept recycling and limited volumes of MSW and C&D waste for county residents who do not live near a landfill.

The operation of the District, which was formed in 1979, is funded through disposal fees collected at all locations and a three-mill levy on property and mineral taxes.

The District is governed by a Board of Directors, appointed by the Fremont County Commissioners. Each Director is appointed to a three-year term. This Board meets monthly to oversee the operation and management of the District. The day-to-day operations of the District are managed by the Superintendent.

The District, in conjunction with private partners and volunteers, provides recycling, recycling education, recycling drop-off facilities, composting, special waste collection (motor oil, antifreeze, Freon, paint and car batteries), and appliance recycling. When possible, the District offers an Electronic Waste Collection Day and a Household Hazardous Waste Collection Day.

The Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District (District) was created and defined by Wyoming State Statutes Title 18, Chapter 11.