The Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District operates 18 permitted solid waste handling facilities, including four permitted landfills. Two are permitted for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW or household trash): the Sand Draw Landfill near Riverton and the Lander Landfill near Lander. Two are permitted for Construction and Demolition debris (C&D): the Dubois Landfill near Dubois and the Shoshoni Landfill just outside Shoshoni.

The District also manages 11 low-volume, low-hazard transfer stations that accept recycling and limited volumes of MSW and C&D waste for county residents who do not live near a landfill.